DEAR DIARY

This will not be a long diary post – not a long “hello – I confide in you and your blank sheets of paper – now listen to my problems” post. No it is all about the fact that I want to start writing a diary/journal. You see, the other day I went to see my grandma who’s recently switched houses. I spent some time going through her old photographs, her old drawings (which I want to put all over my walls) and her notes. She has been consistent in keeping track of all of her photos and writings throughout the years that now it is this sentimental collections of memories – readily available to the entire family. I found a lot of old photographs of my rather dapper grandfather – some of them I’m getting blown up so I can put them on my wall. Can’t wait til I get them! She told me she couldn’t find her old journals – she wrote a journal from her childhood years up to the night my grandfather died. The thing that really struck me was how important all of this felt to me – these memories of a past I was only a part of for such a short period of time – my grandfather died when I was fairly young.

This visit really got me thinking, if my grandmothers ramblings and photographs means such a huge deal to me, will my memories mean something of that extent to my future children and maybe even grandchildren? So I have decided to start gathering my photographs up and putting them in albums. And I have decided to start keeping a journal once again – and this time it will not end up in a bin – I will keep them all – one day it might mean more to me than I can even imagine at this time. I can imagine myself getting quite addicted to my journal – filling it quickly with words, paint, sketches and question marks – can’t wait to get started. Being addicted to the esthetics in life I want my journal to look good. So here is some journal/diary inspiration I’ve collected since my visit to my grandma.

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

all images via

Later today I have to get my shop on. . . Getting pens, colors, journals and some other bits and bobs needed to get this thing started.

+M+

2 comments

  1. Jeni Johnson

    I’ll never forget what my math Teacher told me as a sophomore in H.S. when she walked past my desk while I was scribbling and drawing away…”doodling is a sign of intelligence.”

Leave a Reply

