COMBINE YOUR NEON

I am still at the point where I have a crush on neon… I wish I could bring tons of crazy neon into my home – but my greatest question is; what to combine my neon with? So I have gathered a combination of solutions to my problem – after finding the solutions I have gone on quite the visual aid hunt… And here is what I have gathered – and what I have concluded with!

Pastel + Neon

I am familiar with the trend – to combine your neon with subtle and sweet pastels… I am having some difficulties with this one – since I feel pastels can tend to fall on the way to sweet side – and I am no sweet tooth – nor one to throw too much sweet into my space. I can agree with cute but candy floss sweet has got me on the fence. But I try to focus on solutions instead of problems – so my way to work around it is to see if I can find visual aid that will make me fall in love with the trend – instead of running away from it. Here goes nothing.

unknown source

via

via

via

unknown source

After going through my visual aid on this – I realize that I can slowly dismount my fence… It could work – but it needs a lot of thinking through though… It could go borderline kids room in a second. From a fashion aspect it seems to be pretty kick ass – I am in love with the editorial at the top – and the combination between the neon clutch and the mint jumper does seem doable from a mortal point of view.

Beige + Neon

Now I am turning over to the more neutral or more basic combinations… First of all – let us combine the classic beige with the crazy neon – this is one of the combinations I felt most optimistic about from the beginning. Let’s see if my optimism gets validated! The only thing that could go wrong in my eyes – is the fact that when it comes to beige I can find it quite the boring colour to work with!

unknown source

via

via

via

via

Optimism – validated – to some extent! I feel like it is all about the tiny details when it comes to this combination… I love the shoes, especially combined with the outfit in the first photo… But I feel like the detail thing stands out when it comes to the interior as well… It doesn’t have to be a huge amount of crazy – that would kill the beige – but the smallest detail could make a world of difference – or so it seems to me. . . Still feel beige could be a snooze fest – yes it is classic – but it does need a punch line! And it seems that a pop of neon might just be the thing to resuscitate it!

Crispy White + Neon

Now I am going to turn my face towards my old favorite – white combined with a punch of neon. . . It is no secret that I find white to be the perfect backdrop for anything – and for some reason I feel like that is never going to change.

via

via

via

unknown source

via

My point of view on this combination differs a bit from my view on the combination of neon and beige. .  . When it came down to the beige I prefered the combination in a fashion aspect – when it comes down to the white I prefer it combined with neon in an interior aspect. I am way more fond of the combination when it come to my space than when it comes to my wardrobe. When it comes to the white and neon ratio I’m still on the same page as earlier – mostly white – the neon needs to be in the details.

Black + Neon

Over to another basic colour – the black! I love black – I love black on black – I love black on almost anything… But the question is; do I love black on neon/neon on black? I am not feeling optimistic when it comes to this one!

via

via

unknown source

via

via

This is the combination I am struggling the most with – it simply doesn’t appeal to me on any level… I could live with those sunglasses,  the neon pink with the black branch and maybe the invitation – but still – it wouldn’t be my first choice. But maybe this is the old lady in me speaking – it just seems like more of a rave thing than a me thing!

Grey + Neon

Then to finish it all – one of my all time favorites – grey! I am a big fan of all different shades of grey – but am I a fan of grey combined with a bit of neon?

via

via

unknows source

via

via

I think I am on to a favorite – both in the fashion and the interior department. Maybe it is the fact that it tickles the scandi in me – or it could be the basic fact that it is a pretty shamazing combination…

Well – my verdict is that most of these neon combinations are doable – just make the details shine (neon)!

Now that we have reached the end of this – I really need to ask you – what is your favorite combination?

+M+

5 comments

  1. Agi @ Passion shake

    This year I’m so in love with pastels that I don’t really care about the girly-silly-pinky stereotype 😛
    Great post, great selection of pictures! I really enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

