KITCHEN REVAMP #1

We’ve finally started working on our kitchen revamp… In the midst of baby time, taking on this kitchen revamp seems like the best and the worst idea we’ve had. I am not the most patient person, especially not when it comes to living without kitchen cabinets and decisions being made here and there. Also, after the Bean arrived I freak out when things get too messy, and right now we are living in a constant state of too messy…

We’ve taken down all the cabinet doors, we’ve started sanding everything that needs sanding, we’re getting tiles this weekend, the list goes on… There is a lot of juggling between baby and revamping ahead of us. To top it all of we have not yet decided on a counter top, a part of me wants to splurge on marble – let’s just say this is not the sensible part of me – the other part has already said no 54 times and has won the argument… My not so sensible part is still allowed to dream right?

I thought I’d share what we’ve decided on so far… Or at lest a few pieces the puzzle that is our kitchen revamp… And of course I will add some visual inspiration on each of them, since that’s the way I roll!

Butcher/Subway Tiles 

This was one of those no-brainer decisions, which is a blessing in our household. So it was more or less our starting point. You see, I am one of those people who can ponder a decision for hours, days, even weeks – going back and forth between choices, classic indecisiveness syndrome. It is one of my less charming traits, especially when we want to move forward with this revamp.

Light Grey Cabinets

We ended up buying our paint on impulse, great success… We have a love for grey kitchens, so when we came across a light grey paint with a slight undertone of minty green we just went for it. It is a new color so we can’t find any reference pictures for it anywhere (I love checking out photos of spaces using colors before deciding, just to get a sense of how it works in real life), so we are pretty excited to see the outcome… Crossing my fingers I’ll be happy at the end of it.

Our paint seems a bit lighter than any of these, can’t wait to see how it turns out!

A Black Wall

This may even end up as a chalkboard painted wall, I’m still a bit on the fence about this… But I do know that I want some sort of dark wall in the kitchen, to break up the lightness a bit… We’ve been discussing the chalkboard wall, it could be a fun addition to the space, especially for the Bean growing up… His own “graffiti” wall in the house.

{click the images for source}

I’ll do my best to take some shots now and then when we go through the processes!

+M+

10 comments

    • designtrolls

      We’re gonna do it, I chose the color today… Feeling a bit of jitters about it, but I have a voice in my head rooting on, screaming “if it goes wrong you can always repaint!” Buying it this weekend, can’t wait to try it out 🙂 +M+

  1. Marta Frant

    You are right. What comes to revamps, we all are devided on two parts, the one wants white marble and the other wants black glass. I’m always on the fence about furniture 🙂

    • designtrolls

      I get you haha, as a person who is generally divided when it comes to decisions, anything home related is a challenge. . . Or even the choice of dinner can be an hour long battle for me, good thing the H is decisive! +M+

Leave a Reply

